Founding Universities

GSEFM, building on the Research Training Program in Finance and Monetary Economics and, most strongly, the Ph.D. Program in Economics at Goethe University that were established in 2001 and 2004, respectively, was founded by Goethe University Frankfurt, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, and Technische Universität Darmstadt, and began its operations in 2008.