Goethe University Frankfurt

Goethe University Frankfurt was founded in 1914 through private funding. Thus, the university owes its establishment to the link between dynamic research and the conscious commitment of the citizens of Frankfurt to the fundamentals of international trade and industry. Today, Goethe University is one of the largest public institutions of higher learning in Germany. It is funded primarily through the State of Hessen. Around 600 professors and 2,000 other research staff members carry out research here, as well as teach a total of 35,000 students, of whom around 4,000 are international students from more than 100 countries. Scholars and scientists at Goethe University have been awarded many prestigious scientific prizes, including the Nobel Prize.
Goethe University in total has 16 faculties. These are

  • Law
  • Economics and Business Administration
  • Social Sciences
  • Educational Sciences
  • Psychology and Sports Sciences
  • Protestant Theology
  • Roman Catholic Theology
  • Philosophy and History
  • Linguistics, Cultural and Civilization Studies, Arts
  • Modern Languages
  • Geoscience and Geography
  • Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Physics
  • Chemistry, Biochemistry and Pharmacy
  • Life Sciences
  • Medical Science

Faculty of Economics and Business Administration

The Faculty of Economics and Business Administration at Goethe University owes its existence and identity to the link forged between business and academia. In 1901, the Academy for Social and Commercial Studies was established by Wilhelm Merton, founder of the renowned German industrial organization Metallgesellschaft, as the commercial college for the city of Frankfurt. This college formed the nucleus for Goethe University, established subsequently in 1914 by the citizens of Frankfurt. It was here that former German chancellor Ludwig Erhard took his doctorate, and Reinhard Selten, Germany’s first Nobel laureate in economics, received his certificate of habilitation.

Center for Financial Studies (CFS)

The Center for Financial Studies (CFS) is a research institute affiliated to Goethe University. Its sponsoring body, the Gesellschaft für Kapitalmarktforschung, counts amongst its members more than 90 banks, insurances, consulting firms and commercial enterprises. The CFS conducts independent and policy-oriented research on central banking and monetary economics, financial markets and financial intermediaries. It interacts closely for example with the European Central Bank, and plays an important role in the policy debate by (co-)organizing conferences such as the "The ECB and its Watchers".

Institute for Monetary and Financial Stability

This research institute for monetary economics and finance, set up at Goethe University in 2005, is home to interdisciplinary research on monetary and financial stability. The institute is the home of three research professorships granted to Goethe University by a foundation of the Deutsche Bundesbank. The professorships further strengthen Frankfurt as an international stronghold for research on issues in central banking.

LOEWE Center "Sustainable Architecture for Finance in Europe" (SAFE)

The LOEWE Center "Sustainable Architecture for Finance in Europe" (SAFE) is funded as a Center of Excellence by the state of Hessen. The center involves the work of more than 35 faculty members and is engaged in interdisciplinary research on the optimal design of financial markets, a design that should balance innovation, competition and stability. The center is also engaged in providing policy advice based on scientific analysis.

Institute for Law and Finance (ILF)

The Institute for Law and Finance (ILF) carries out interdisciplinary research and teaching in law and finance. Its work combines theoretical with practical studies in law and international finance, and is sponsored by major banks, international law firms and public institutions.

E-Finance Lab (EFL)

The E-Finance Lab (EFL) is a research institute affiliated to Goethe University; it is a partnership between Goethe University and TU Darmstadt on the one hand as well as industry partners Accenture, BearingPoint, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Börse, Deutsche Postbank, DZ Bank Gruppe, FinanzIT, IBM, Microsoft, Siemens, T-Systems, DAB Bank and Interactive Data Managed Solutions on the other hand. The goal of the ELF is to jointly develop scientific yet managerial methods for analyzing the influence of information technology on the financial service industry.